Dr. Suleiman Mwangi

Dean, School of Education and Social Sciences

Welcome Message

Welcome to the School of Education and Social Sciences at St. Paul’s University. The School offers PhD, Masters, undergraduate, Diploma and Certificate programmes in the following Social Science fields of study; Development Studies, Education, Social Work, Leadership and Management, Peace and Conflict Studies, Criminology and Security Management and Counselling Psychology. The School of Social Sciences was started in September 2012 with 3 departments and eight programmes. Currently, it hosts two Departments - the Department of Social Sciences and Department of Education; and 27 programmes which include one PhD programme, four Master programmes, One Post-graduate Diploma Programme, eight Undergraduate programmes, seven Diploma programmes and three certificate programmes. All the degree and Post-graduate Diploma programmes have been approved and accredited by the Commission for University Education (CUE) while the Diploma and Certificate programmes have been approved by the St. Paul’s University Senate.

The aim of the school is to offer quality programmes in Social Science areas of study that focus not just on the market needs but on enabling graduates to be creative and effectively function in a global community. We thus focus not only on the knowledge but also in inculcating values and spiritual formation through the curriculum and co-curricular activities as well as structured and inbuilt practicums that enable students to interact and learn from the world of work and the community. We value the input of all stakeholders in our programmes. We therefore engage stakeholders in the development and review of our programmes in order to improve the quality of our programmes and our graduates. The positive feedback we get from employers is a testimony on the quality of our graduates. The faculty is committed to continuously improve existing programmes and develop new ones that address the needs of the Society.

Programmes Offered

Post-Graduate Programmes

  1. PhD in Development Studies
  2. Master of Arts in Sociology
  3. Master of Arts in Islam and Christian-Muslim Relations (ICMR)
  4. Master of Development Studies
  5. Master of Education (Early Childhood Studies)
  6. Post Graduate Diploma in Higher Education Pedagogy

Undergraduate Programmes

  1. Bachelor of Arts in Community Development
  2. Bachelor of Arts in Counselling Psychology
  3. Bachelor of Arts in Criminology and Security Management
  4. Bachelor of Arts in Peace and Conflict Studies
  5. Bachelor of Arts in Social Work
  6. Bachelor of Education (Arts)
  7. Bachelor of Education (Special Needs Education)
  8. Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood Development and Education)

Diploma Programmes

  1. Diploma in Community Development
  2. Diploma in Counselling Psychology
  3. Diploma in Social Work
  4. Diploma in Peace Building and Conflict Resolution
  5. Diploma in Criminology and Security Management
  6. Diploma in Education (Early Childhood Development and Education)

Certificate Programmes

  1. Certificate in Community Development
  2. Certificate in Criminology and Security Management
  3. Certificate in Higher Education Instructional Design and Teaching

The school has over 2000 students spread across different programmes and the three university campuses namely; Limuru, Nairobi and Nakuru. In addition, the school offers selected Diploma and Certificate programmes through three Collaborating Colleges.

Faculty Leadership

  • Dr. Suleiman Mwangi Dean of School
  • Dr. Petronila Otuya HOD, Department of Social Sciences
  • Dr. Milka Ajuoga HOD, Department of Education
  • Maryann Mwangi Ag. HoD Social Sciences– Nairobi