Prof-Chosefu-Chemorion, Dean-faculty-of-Theology
  • Prof. Chosefu Chemorion
  • Dean, Faculty of Theology
  • View Profile

Welcome Message

Welcome to the Faculty of Theology (FOT) at St. Paul’s University. Our vision is to be “An excellent ecumenical faculty for nurturing servants of God and Humanity” and our mission is “To train God fearing servants for Global service.”

The history of FOT goes back to 1888 when it was started as a Divinity School for Church Missionary Society, training Anglicans for ordained ministry. Later, the Presbyterian Church of East Africa, the Methodist Church of Kenya, Reformed Church of East Africa and the National Council of Churches of Kenya joined at different times to establish an ecumenical partnership. The faculty is among the few ecumenical and international institutions of higher theological education in Africa with faculty and students drawn from different parts of the world.

Staff establishment and programmes

The faculty has over 400 students with 13 fulltime staff and 17 adjunct lecturers. There are two Departments, namely, the Department of History, Missions, Religion and Practical Theology and the Department of Biblical Studies, Philosophy and Theology. The faculty also has three centres that link theoretical training with practical issues in the contemporary society. These centres are; Centre for Translation and Contextual Bible Study (CETCOBS); Centre for Christian and Muslim Relations at Eastleigh (CCMRE); and The Africa Centre for Biblical Equity (TACBE).

We offer unique undergraduate and postgraduate curricular that are carefully designed to address the needs of the church in the 21st century. All our degree programmes have been approved by the Senate and accredited by the Commission for University Education in Kenya. The faculty offers the following programmes:

  1. PhD in Theology with specializations in:
    • Biblical Studies
    • History of Christianity
    • Missions
    • Pastoral Counseling
    • Systematic Theology
  2. Masters in Theology (MTh) with specializations in:
    • Biblical Studies
    • Bible Translation
    • History
    • Counseling (Practical Theology)
    • Philosophy
    • Systematic Theology(Philosophy and Gender)
  3. Master of Arts in Islam and Christian-Muslim Relations (ICMR)
  4. Postgraduate Diploma in Islam and Christian-Muslim Relations
  5. Bachelor of Divinity (BD)
  6. Bachelor of Arts in Translation Studies with emphasis on:
    • Translation languages (English with French, Kiswahili, Arabic, Biblical Greek, Biblical Hebrew, or any other in which the student shows interest).
    • Translation theory
    • Conference interpreting
    • Translation of sacred literature
    • Translation of Business documents
    • Translation of Medical documents
    • Translation of Legal documents
    • Translation of Children’s Literature
    • Translation of Multi-media information
  7. Diploma in Theology
  8. Diploma in Music
  9. Diploma in Sign Language
  10. Certificate in Theology
  11. Certificate in Music

Faculty Leadership

  • Rev. Prof. Diphus Chemorion Dean of faculty
  • Rev. Dr. Julius Kithinji HOD Biblical Studies, Philosophy and Theology
  • Rev. Rowland Van Es, Jr. HOD History, Mission, Religion and Practical Theology
  • Dr. John Kiboi Programme Head PhD in Theology
  • Rev. Prof. Kabiro Wa Gatumu Programme Head MTh and chairman CETCOBS
  • Rev. Dr. Joseph Mutei Programme Head for MA-ICMR
  • Rev. Dr. Emily Onyango Coordinator of faculty fellowship and Chair TACBE
  • Ven. Scholar Wayua Kiilu Coordinator of CCMRE
  • Mrs Mercy Mbaka Departmental Secretary
  • Rev Lois Muturi Secretary for Diploma collaborations
  • Mrs. Jane Gioko Coordinator of Theology programmes in Nairobi