Dr. Suleiman-Mwangi, Dean-faculty-of-Social-Sciences
  • Dr. Suleiman Mwangi
  • Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences
  • View Profile

Welcome Message

Welcome to the Faculty of Social Sciences at St. Paul’s University. The Faculty offers PhD, Masters, undergraduate, Diploma and Certificate programmes in the following Social Science fields of study; Development Studies, Education, Social Work, Leadership and Management, Peace and Conflict Studies, Criminology and Security Management and Counselling Psychology. The Faculty of Social Sciences was started in September 2012 with 3 departments and eight programmes. Currently, the Faculty has two Departments namely Nairobi and Limuru(In charge of Machakos and Nakuru as well) and 27 programmes which include one PhD programme, five Master programmes, One Post-graduate Diploma Programme, Nine undergraduate programmes, Eight Diploma programmes and three certificate programmes. All the degree and Post-graduate Diploma programmes have been approved and accredited by the Commission for University Education (CUE) while the Diploma and Certificate programmes have been approved by the St. Paul’s University Senate.

The aim of the faculty is to offer quality programmes in Social Science areas of study that focus not just on the market needs but on enabling graduates to be creative and effectively function in a global community. We thus focus not only on the knowledge but also in inculcating values and spiritual formation through the curriculum and co-curricular activities as well as structured and inbuilt practicums that enable students interact and learn from the world of work and the community. We value the input of all stakeholders in our programmes. We therefore engage stakeholders in the development and review of our programmes in order to improve the quality of our programmes and our graduates. The positive feedback we get from employers is a testimony on the quality of our graduates. The faculty is committed to continuously improve existing programmes and develop new ones that address the needs of the Society.

Faculty Programmes

Post-Graduate Programmes

  1. PhD in Development Studies
  2. Mater of Arts in Sociology
  3. Master of Arts in Transformational Leadership
  4. Master of Development Studies
  5. Master of Education (Early Childhood Studies
  6. Master of Public Administration and Policy
  7. Post Graduate Diploma in Higher Education Pedagogy

Undergraduate Programmes

  1. Bachelor of Arts in Community Development
  2. Bachelor of Arts in Counselling Psychology
  3. Bachelor of Arts in Leadership and Management
  4. Bachelor of Arts in Social Work
  5. Bachelor of Arts in Peace and Conflict Studies
  6. Bachelor of Education (Arts)
  7. Bachelor of Education (Special Needs Education)
  8. Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood Development and Education)
  9. Bachelor of Arts in Criminology and Security Management

Diploma Programmes

  1. Diploma in Community Development
  2. Diploma in Counselling Psychology
  3. Diploma in Leadership Management
  4. Diploma in Social Work
  5. Diploma in Peace Building and Conflict Resolution
  6. Diploma in Criminology and Security Management
  7. Diploma in Education (Arts)
  8. Diploma in Education (Early Childhood Development and Education)

Certificate Programmes

  1. Certificate in Community Development
  2. Certificate in Criminology and Security Management
  3. Certificate in Higher Education Instructional Design and Teaching

Undergraduate Programmes

The faculty has over 1000 students spread across different programmes and the four university campuses namely; Limuru, Nairobi, Nakuru and Machakos. In addition the faculty offers selected Diploma and Certificate programmes through three Collaborating Colleges.

Faculty Leadership

  • 1. Dr. Suleiman Mwangi Faculty Dean
  • 2. Dr. Petronila Otuya HoD - Limuru (In charge of Nakuru and Machakos campuses)
  • 3. Maryann Mwangi Ag. HoD – Nairobi